Police & Fire Commission

The Board of Fire and Police Commissioners consists of three members appointed by the Village President with the advice and consent of the Village Board. They serve staggered three year terms and until their respective successors are appointed and qualified.

The commissioners appoint and promote all regular members of the fire and police departments with the assistance of an examination process which includes written, oral, physical, polygraph and psychological testing. An eligibility list is created upon completion of the examination process, which is conducted every two years. If a vacancy occurs in any position in either the police department or the fire department, other than the positions of Chief of Police or the Chief of the Fire Department, the commissioners shall fill that vacancy according to current eligibility lists.

Contact the Commission at 815-932-2125.